Society for International Hockey Research

  • Brian McFarlane Award
  • President's Award

THE BRIAN McFARLANE AWARD was created in 1995, in honour of our Honourary President and in appreciation of his support of the Society and his continuing contribution to the preservation of hockey history.

It recognizes “outstanding research and writing by members” and is judged on the calibre of papers presented to the Society and on special publishing projects outside the Society.

Year Recipient Hometown
1995 Glen Goodhand Beaverton, Ontario
1996 Michel Vigneault Montreal, Quebec
1997 Ernie Fitzsimmons Fredericton, New Brunswick
1998 Roger Godin Bel Air, Maryland
1999 Len Kotylo Toronto, Ontario
2000 Paul Kitchen Ottawa, Ontario
2001 Don Reddick Walpole, Massachusetts
2002 Bill Martin Chicago, Illinois
2003 John Paton Toronto, Ontario
2004 Joseph Nieforth Toronto, Ontario
2005 Eric Zweig Toronto, Ontario
2006 Bill Fitsell Kingston, Ontario
2007 Martin Harris London, England
2008 Paul Patskou Toronto, Ontario
2009 Paul Kitchen Ottawa, Ontario
2010 Patrick Houda and Carl Giden Stockholm, Sweden
2011 Jim Mancuso Utica, New York
2012 Kevin Shea Ajax, Ontario
2013 Marc Durand Quebec City, Québec



The President's Award was created in 2011 and is awarded to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the Society.

Year Recipient Hometown
2011 Lloyd Davis and Paul Bruno Toronto and Richmond Hill, Ontario
2012 Mark Kihn Calgary, Alberta
2013 R.J. Pratt and Wilbrod Despres Calgary, Alberta and Gaspé, Québec